Say NO

Yesterday I was having a discussion with a colleague which later got blown into a full fledged arguement. So much so that after a point we actually forgot what was it that we were actually discussing 🙂
But there is one part of that arguement that did strike me…I was making a point that if we all do our own work with integrity and honesty then there would be no need for anybody to force any rules on us; and that the reason why most people don’t do the right thing is because of lack of education. At this my colleague objected (hey this does sound like a courtroom drama :p) saying that education does not always guarantee fair conduct and that around us only there are so many expamples when we are not fair. I asked her to give one example and she pointed to the loads of pirated songs stashed in my hard disk. I was really taken aback, I did not expect an attack on myself…and that too such a swift and brutal one.
Long after we ended that discussion I kept thinking about what she had said and I couldn’t help feeling guilty. So I decided to say no to piracy in totality. No more unauthorised mp3 downloads, no more camera prints of movies, no more cheap copies of softwares (this is gonna hurt)…
I am not sure if this will make any difference to anybody else, but it sure will to me. Knowing that you are right does give you a big high 😀

7 thoughts on “Say NO

  1. for the songs and movies I liked I did have the original ones…but I was not as vehement in not listening to the pirated ones for timepass songs…

    Well you are not the lone ranger anymore 🙂

  2. Hmm…songs r nt tht expensive…Movies better seen original – otherwise they r no fun! and there is always freeware..n its pretty good. So I guess its the right thing to do! 🙂

  3. How about starting with buying genuine OS – i am sure you are a Windows user!
    We ‘ll see then how much a software goody are ya !
    LOL

Leave a comment