My 2 cents

Welcome to Sajjanpur – movie review

Posted in Funny, India, Last movie I saw, Movies, Movies I recommend, something I like, Something New by urmilesh on September 26, 2008

There are times when, quite unexpectedly, you discover who you really are; what you really like; when you really laugh…and if you are a movie person like me then most of these times will come when you’re watching a movie. Last weekend told me that my sense of humour is twisted in some ways because I found myself laughing all through Zohan…and I wasn’t the least bit surprised to see that I was not laughing the loudest in my gang; and yesterday I realized that I can even laught at real world problems or very real looking people…only requirement is for a master story teller to tell that story in a funny way.

And Shyam Benegal has done just that. He has taken a setting in a very real world village, not one of those filmy villages you see in movies almost always (Lagaan included). I could very easily think of similar people in my village in eastern UP, and that is when I don’t visit there that often; and he has told their story…no no…he has made us see their tale from the eyes of Mahadev (nice performance by Shreyas Talpade). Their problems, their griefs, their daily trials, their dreams…and while it is nice that we enjoy and admire their dreams….we also laugh at their problems. Agreed the story unfolds in a very light-hearted manner…and there are some places where even the stoic of faces will show a grin….but still, it’s someone’s grief we are laughing at. Did Shyam Benegal realize that the only way he can ensure a large audience for his close to life movies is to view them humorously?? rather than seriously…I don’t know.

Well, this thought apart…the movie is a very nice collage of everyday characters from a village that could be anywhere in India. No one seems to have been cast out of place…everyone has done justice to their part; and in turn to the story. A movie which will not disappoint you…and make you feel that even the highly overpriced tickets at these city malls are justified. One thing I particularly liked was the dialogues of the movie; they have been written very well and the delivery matches the writing. And thankfully, the accent has not been toned down….that is something that adds to the movie.

Go watch…

Leave a Reply

